remembermedj

Icon

Just another WordPress.com site

My first week in DMS IITD

I will always remember the date 26th July. This was the day when all of a sudden out of blue moon, I got a mail saying I have been offered a seat in DMS, IIT Delhi. I have been expecting my waitlist to clear in NITIE but not in DMS and hence it was a pleasant surprise. In fact I was so happy that I had to ask a friend of mine to recheck it and confirm it for me. After that I just withdrew my application from the current institute and headed off to IIT Delhi pleased that I have made it to IIT, though may be I am four years late.
Since I got my offer letter a little late, that means technically I have spent only one week as of now in DMS. The first week has been interesting as I was swamped with things to do. Academics aside, my first priority was to get myself a room allotted. This is one process which is tedious and you have to navigate through the maze of bureaucratic machinery to find a place to stay. I will attend classes and immediately run to the main building to request for a room. It was a big campus and I had no idea where to go to get my work done. There have been times when I was exasperated, there have been times when I was plain angry with the system.
Apart from finding myself a room, I had to apply for committees and complete the Pre Joining assignments and there were things to complete which were covered in the class. All of this had to be done when in fact I did not have a room to live and unpack my stuff. Like I said before I was exasperated.
Then there were people in the class. They have made friends in the orientation week and the one week that they have lived here. I did not know any of them and the place was alien to me. I was apprehensive whether I will fit in or not.
But then this is I guess what people call multitasking. You have to juggle between your priorities and complete all of them to the best of your ability. Also you have to find time so that you can pursue your interests too. Things have started to fall in place and the place does not seem alien anymore. I have made new friends, friends that will stay here with me for the next two years and hopefully for the life. Now when I stand in the DMS building, I am not apprehensive of fitting in but I am hopeful for my future, I can see a future full of possibilities and I look forward to embrace it.

Filed under: Novel Experience, ,

9 Responses

  1. loserreturns says:

    COngrats dear…Happy for you…No i am ot talking about the room allotment alone ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • jaaliengineer says:

      @Lover boy-Thanks yaar. It was a long and hard journey..By the way have not seen your posts in recent times??

  2. ravsworld says:

    badhaiyan ji badhaiyan !!!!
    Its a wonderful feeling to be back to college again..
    just relive your dreams again ๐Ÿ˜›

    • jaaliengineer says:

      @Ravi-Living the dream for now but MBA College is very different from Engineering college..Liked the previous one better..

  3. rhythmnarang04 says:

    HEY CONGRATS…… Ab to engineer ke aage se jaali hata do… Treat for you friend… Garmaa Garam Bhajia for you ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. ravsworld says:

    it has been only a week for you in the new place.. as time will pass you will start enjoying it…
    but the fun part one has in engineering life is more and different… MBA college will have its own fun part too… so enjoy maadi ..

  5. […] might also like this Category: Novel Experience  Tags: Ashok Leyland, ennore plant, Hosur, Management […]

Leave a Reply

